Vine toamna

Vine toamna (vee-nay toe-ahm-na).

Fall is coming.  Literally, this translates “comes Fall.”  And, for some reason, I love this saying.

Maybe it’s the sentence structure, maybe it’s because I love Fall weather, maybe it’s because Fall means the holidays are coming, or maybe it’s because I haven’t really had a Fall for 14 years now (95 degrees in October in Arizona is not what I would describe as “Fall”).

It’s a saying that I’ve heard from many Moldovans, and the signs are all around.  It’s cooler in the mornings and the evenings.  The sun is setting earlier.  Some of the trees are even beginning to lose their leaves.  School is starting.  And I’m excited.

Maybe in a few months I’ll be bundled up in long underwear and blankets wishing for summer, but for now, I’m looking forward to Fall.

Leave a Reply

