The leaning bottle of water

Sometimes a seemingly simple object can be the source of some great stories.

A few months ago, my parents send me a package, and I asked them to include my stainless steel water bottle.  Well, they did, and I was so glad to get it.  But it’s this old, crappy bottle that I drop all the time, and after I drop it a couple of times, it sort of leans to one side because the bottom starts to curve outward instead of inward.

That said, my colleague tried to make it stand up straight when we were working on translating a document, and I smiled and explained that it was very old and I need to hammer the bottom back in (no, I did not know how to say this in Romanian, so I just made a hammering motion and said “I need to do like this.”)  And then I said, in broken Romanian, to my three office mates, “It’s like the building in Italy that leans to the side, it’s like the leaning Tower of Pisa.”  (Sound of my own laughter).

For those of you who know me well, you also probably know that sometimes–nay, quite often–I try to make jokes that just aren’t that funny.  And this one was probably even less comedically entertaining in Romanian.  That said, I thought I’d still post a picture to share.

This same bottle led my host mom to question why I carry this thing around all the time with water.

I explain that, being from Arizona, it’s very hot and I always carry around water with me.  But, also, it’s important for every person to drink at least 8 glasses of water every day.

She looks down at the mug in front of her filled with water, “I’m supposed to drink 7 more of these?!”

“Yes, I believe so,” I say. “I read that much of our body is made of water, and that we should drink a lot of it.  It’s good for health.”

“Ha,” she says laughing, “I can’t drink 8 glasses of water a day!”  And then she shakes her head and says the Romanian version of “good grief.”  I couldn’t help but smile along with her.

Leave a Reply

