God bless the food

One thing I continue to be amazing by is how much cooking and baking is done from scratch.  And without measuring cups (a phenomenon that continues to boggle my mind)!

I think about these rolls my mom makes every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas (hi mom!), and how much work she puts into those, and how even the slightest change in certain ingredients can change the way the rolls turn out.  There’s almost a science to it.  And it makes me appreciate the dishes and foods these Moldovan women make from scratch.

But really, I’ve seen women cook from scratch before (hi mom!).  What I found most interesting was that my host mom, who belongs to the Orthodox Church, makes the sign of the cross over each pan before she puts it in the oven.

God bless the food.

2 responses to “God bless the food

Leave a Reply

